Lake Michigan Credit Union Personal Loans Review

Lake Michigan Credit Union offers personal loans from $250 with no origination fee, but membership is required…

Lake Michigan Credit Union personal loans start at $250, making them an option for borrowers who need less than many lenders will provide. Rates range from 9.99% to 18.00%, and the credit union charges no application or origination fee. Membership is required, and applicants cannot get a rate estimate without a hard credit inquiry.

Lake Michigan Credit Union personal loan terms and cost

The published loan range is $250 to $25,000, with repayment periods from one month to 60 months. The rate depends on the borrower and loan details, so the advertised APR range is not a promise of the rate any applicant will receive. LMCU lists a recommended minimum credit score of 650. That is a guide, not a guarantee of approval.

There is no application fee or origination charge. A late fee applies if a payment remains unpaid past the grace period: the credit union allows 14 days after the due date, then charges 4% of the payment due beginning on the 15th day. Borrowers can also pay $25 to skip an eligible payment, subject to the program rules. Interest continues to accrue, and the skipped payment is added to the end of the loan.

One detail to confirm before applying is the maximum loan size. The product specifications list $25,000, while a separate comparison of lenders says LMCU does not disclose its maximum. Ask the credit union to confirm the limit available for the loan purpose and applicant before relying on the published figure.

FeatureLake Michigan Credit UnionPatelco Credit UnionSoFi
APR range9.99% to 18.00%9.30% to 17.90%8.74% to 29.49%
Loan amounts$250 to $25,000 in product specifications$300 to $100,000$5,000 to $100,000
Repayment termsOne to 60 monthsSix to 84 months24 to 84 months
Recommended minimum credit score650640Not disclosed
Origination feeNoneNoneUp to 7%
Typical funding time listedOne daySame daySame day

The comparison makes the main tradeoffs visible. LMCU has a much lower stated starting loan amount than Patelco Credit Union or SoFi. Its maximum term is also shorter: five years, compared with seven years at those two lenders. A longer term can reduce the required monthly payment, but it can also mean paying interest for longer. Compare total repayment costs as well as the monthly bill.

The APR ranges overlap, and a range alone does not show which lender will offer an individual borrower the lowest rate. SoFi lists a higher possible APR and an origination fee of up to 7%, while LMCU and Patelco list no origination fee. The lenders also differ in loan size and repayment length, so a useful comparison requires offers for the same amount and a term that fits the borrower’s budget.

Membership, eligibility and the application process

LMCU was established in 1933 as Grand Rapids Teachers Credit Union. It took its current form in 2002 after combining with other credit unions, and acquired Florida based Pilot Bank in 2021. The institution reports more than $14 billion in assets and is headquartered in West Michigan. Its primary service areas are Florida and the lower peninsula of Michigan, but eligible people elsewhere in the United States can join.

Membership is open to people who live, work or worship in Florida or Michigan’s lower peninsula. People elsewhere can qualify if they are immediate family members of an existing LMCU member. The qualifying relatives listed are parents, siblings, children, grandparents and spouses. Another route is a donation of at least $5 to the ALS Foundation. Membership is part of the borrowing process, so plan to complete that step rather than treating the loan as a product available to anyone without joining.

To open an account, applicants need a Social Security number and a photo of a driver’s license or other government issued identification. A mobile phone with a camera can be used to submit the identification online. People without a compatible device can apply by phone or in person. A joint application is allowed, but LMCU does not accept a co signer. Both people on a joint application share responsibility for repayment and can use the funds.

A borrower arrives at a credit union branch carrying identification and loan paperwork.

The loan application asks how much the borrower wants and what the money will be used for. Applicants can indicate whether they want the funds deposited into a checking account or sent by check. LMCU does not offer a prequalification tool. That means a borrower cannot check a likely rate first without completing the full application, which includes a hard credit inquiry.

The credit union says it responds to new applications within 24 to 48 hours. Once approved, funds are typically sent within one business day. These are stated timeframes, not a guarantee that every application or disbursement will take exactly that long. Missing documents, identity verification or other application questions can affect the process.

Before submitting an application, borrowers can take a few practical steps:

  • Check whether they qualify for membership through location, a family relationship or the $5 ALS Foundation donation.
  • Decide on a loan amount and repayment period, then consider whether the monthly payment will fit alongside existing bills.
  • Gather identification and Social Security information for each applicant.
  • Compare APRs, fees and repayment terms from other lenders, keeping in mind that an LMCU application causes a hard credit inquiry.
  • Ask LMCU to confirm the maximum amount, the available term for the requested amount and any loan specific eligibility rules.

Payment flexibility, other borrowing options and service

Borrowers whose accounts are current can request to skip up to two payments in a year, but the months cannot be consecutive. Each skipped payment costs $25. The payment is pushed to the end of the loan, and interest keeps accruing in the meantime. The feature can offer breathing room during a difficult month, but regular use increases the time and interest needed to repay the debt. Check the exact terms before relying on it.

LMCU also offers optional credit life and disability insurance when a borrower applies. According to the product description, the coverage can pay off the remaining loan balance if the borrower dies or becomes disabled. It is optional, and its cost affects the overall borrowing expense. The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau advises consumers to compare credit insurance with other forms of coverage, including term life insurance, which may cost less and does not limit how the benefit can be used.

The personal loan is not the only borrowing product at LMCU. It offers secured and unsecured loans, as well as a line of credit. The credit union says funds can be used for expenses such as debt consolidation, medical bills, weddings and vacations. Borrowers considering consolidation should compare the new loan’s APR and fees with the costs of the debts they plan to pay off. A lower payment caused by a longer repayment schedule does not necessarily mean a lower total cost.

For qualifying home improvement work in Michigan, the Michigan Saves loan program is a separate option. It allows borrowing up to $60,000, with repayment terms as long as 180 months. Those amounts and terms differ substantially from LMCU’s standard personal loan specifications, so applicants should confirm that their project qualifies and review the program’s specific conditions.

LMCU also provides auto and recreational vehicle loans, checking and savings accounts, certificates of deposit, credit cards, student loans, mortgages and home equity loans. A broader relationship with the credit union is not required to judge a personal loan offer, but membership itself is required for the loan.

Personal loan applications are accepted by phone around the clock at 844 301 8899. For general service, the listed telephone number is 800 242 9790. Phone support and chat are available weekdays from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. Eastern Time and Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Eastern Time. Customers can also schedule an appointment at a branch or arrange a virtual meeting. LMCU has an account on X at @LMCU.

Customer review scores are limited in number. LMCU had a Trustpilot score of 2.8 out of 5 based on nine reviews and a Better Business Bureau score of 1.27 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Those small review counts do not represent every member’s experience, but they are a reason to read recent feedback alongside the loan terms and service options.

LMCU is a credit union, not a bank insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. Its deposits are insured by the National Credit Union Administration, with coverage up to $250,000. Deposit insurance is separate from a personal loan and does not change the borrower’s repayment obligation.

For someone who needs a small loan, meets the membership rules and can accept a term of five years or less, LMCU’s $250 minimum and lack of an origination fee may be useful. The drawbacks are the hard inquiry required to see an offer, the absence of co signers and the limited repayment period. A borrower who needs a longer term, a larger loan or a co signer should compare other options before applying.