Upgrade Personal Loans Review of Rates and Terms

Upgrade accepts applicants with credit scores as low as 580 and offers loans from $1,000 to $50,000.

An Upgrade personal loan review should focus on the price you are actually offered, not just the lender’s advertised range. Upgrade accepts applications from borrowers with credit scores as low as 580, offers loans from $1,000 to $50,000, and may send approved funds in one business day. Fees and rates can make a major difference to the cost.

What Upgrade offers, and what it may cost

Upgrade is a San Francisco based financial technology company founded in 2017. It offers unsecured personal loans, along with an option for an auto secured loan. Its personal loans are available in all 50 states, but not Washington, D.C. Minimum loan amounts can vary by state, so confirm what applies where you live.

A borrower reviews pay stubs and loan documents beside a laptop.

The quoted personal loan terms span 24 to 84 months. That range gives borrowers room to choose a shorter payoff period or spread payments over more time. A longer term can reduce the required monthly payment, but it also keeps the debt outstanding longer. Compare the total repayment cost as well as the monthly amount before choosing.

FeatureUpgrade
APR range7.74% to 35.99%
Loan amount$1,000 to $50,000
Repayment term24 to 84 months
Recommended minimum credit score580
Origination fee1.85% to 9.99%
Late payment fee$10
Possible funding timeAs soon as one business day after approval

These are a range of quoted terms, not a promise that every applicant can borrow at the lowest rate or for the longest period. Your offer depends on your application and lender review. The APR includes the interest rate and certain loan costs, while the origination fee is taken out of the amount funded. Read the loan agreement to see the rate, fee, payment schedule, and amount you will actually receive.

For a concrete sense of the fee, on a hypothetical $10,000 loan, an origination charge of 1.85% would be $185. At 9.99%, it would be $999. If deducted at funding, those fees would leave $9,815 or $9,001, respectively, before any other applicable details in the offer. A borrower who needs a specific amount in hand should account for that deduction rather than assuming the loan balance and cash received will match.

Upgrade also advertises possible APR discounts for autopay, paying creditors directly, holding an eligible checking account, or choosing an auto secured loan. The total discount is not specified in the supplied terms, and auto secured loans can have different rates and conditions. Ask which discounts apply to your offer and whether any requirement must remain in place during repayment.

How Upgrade compares with two alternatives

Shopping around matters because two lenders can offer different combinations of price, loan size, repayment length, and funding speed. The table compares the quoted ranges for Upgrade, Upstart, and LendingPoint. Treat them as product terms for comparison, not as personalized offers. A lender’s stated minimum score or other eligibility language also does not guarantee approval.

Product detailUpgradeUpstartLendingPoint
APR range7.74% to 35.99%6.20% to 35.99%7.99% to 35.99%
Loan amount$1,000 to $50,000$1,000 to $75,000$2,000 to $36,500
Loan term24 to 84 months36 or 60 months24 to 72 months
Credit requirement listedRecommended minimum score of 580No credit history neededRecommended minimum score of 660
Origination fee1.85% to 9.99%0% to 12%0% to 10%
Stated funding timeOne business dayOne business daySame day

On the quoted figures, Upstart lists the lowest starting APR and the largest maximum loan amount, while its available terms are limited to 36 or 60 months. LendingPoint lists same day funding and a higher recommended minimum credit score than Upgrade. Upgrade permits a smaller minimum loan than LendingPoint and offers the longest term in this comparison. Those differences are useful only if the lender’s actual offer fits your needs.

Do not choose by starting APR alone. A borrower offered a much higher rate could face a very different total cost, and origination fees affect the cash received. Compare offers for the same borrowing amount and, as closely as possible, the same payoff period. Look at the APR, the fee in dollars, the net disbursement, the monthly payment, and the total amount scheduled to be repaid.

If you are offered an Upgrade loan, compare it with at least one other lender before accepting. The prequalification process can show possible terms without a hard credit inquiry, but a lender may make a hard inquiry when you select an offer and submit a full application. Confirm the timing and credit check process before proceeding with any lender.

Credit, fees, and the trade offs to weigh

Upgrade’s recommended minimum credit score is 580, a threshold that can make it an option for some people who may not qualify with lenders that set higher minimums. The score is not an approval guarantee. Lenders can consider other application information, and a lower score can mean a higher APR. Compare the written offer with your budget instead of treating eligibility as a reason to borrow.

The biggest cost uncertainty is the origination fee, which ranges from 1.85% to 9.99%. Some competitors may offer loans with no origination fee, although their other terms can differ. Since Upgrade deducts its fee from the loan proceeds, check whether the cash left after the deduction will cover the bill or project you intend to pay for. If not, borrowing more can raise both the amount owed and the total cost.

Upgrade also charges a $10 late payment fee. Set a due date that aligns with your cash flow, and consider autopay if it suits your circumstances and qualifies you for a discount. The ability to choose a payment date can help with planning, but it does not remove the obligation to make each payment on time. Ask how the due date works and what happens if a payment is missed.

Personal loan funds can be used for debt consolidation, home improvements and repairs, medical or dental bills, weddings, pools, and unexpected costs. The loan cannot be used for college tuition, investing, or gambling. If you intend to consolidate credit card or other debt, Upgrade can pay creditors directly. Check the payoff amounts with each creditor and confirm that the planned disbursement will cover them.

Direct payment may simplify the payoff process, but it does not erase the debt until the creditors receive and post the money. Keep making required payments on existing accounts until you confirm the balances have been cleared. Also consider whether the new loan’s APR, fees, and repayment schedule lower the overall cost. Consolidating debt can leave old credit lines open, so avoid adding new balances that undermine the payoff plan.

Applicants can apply with a coapplicant. Both borrowers are responsible for repayment, and the lender considers the coapplicant’s credit information alongside the primary applicant’s. Upgrade does not specify whether it permits a cosigner. These roles are not interchangeable: a joint borrower shares payment responsibility from the start, while a cosigner generally becomes responsible if the main borrower does not pay. Confirm the arrangement and obligations before submitting a joint application.

Upgrade does not directly refinance an existing Upgrade personal loan. A borrower might apply for a second loan and use its proceeds to repay the first, but that is a new borrowing decision, not a guaranteed refinance. Compare the new loan’s fee, APR, payment, and remaining payoff amount. A second loan only improves the arrangement if its total costs and terms make sense for the borrower.

Application steps and getting the money

The online application process is described as taking minutes. Start by prequalifying to review potential rates and terms. Upgrade says prequalification does not harm your credit score because it does not make a hard inquiry at that stage. A hard inquiry can occur after you choose a loan and submit the full application, so review the offer and the credit check disclosure before moving forward.

If the initial terms are acceptable, select the amount and repayment period you want to pursue. The final offer may differ from the preliminary information after the lender reviews the complete application. Check the APR and origination fee in dollars, the monthly payment, the due date, the net funding amount, and whether any discount depends on autopay, direct creditor payment, an eligible checking account, or collateral.

Applicants provide personal details such as a name, address, and Social Security number. Upgrade may also ask for documents to verify identity and income, including recent pay stubs and identification. Have requested records available, but submit them only through the lender’s application process. If more information is requested, response time can affect how quickly the review is completed.

After approval, funds may arrive as soon as one business day. That is a possible timeline, not a guarantee for every application. The customer feedback cited for Upgrade includes praise for communication, service, and a straightforward process, alongside complaints from some reviewers about longer than expected approval waits. If the expense has a firm deadline, ask about the status and timing rather than relying on the fastest stated case.

For help, Upgrade lists telephone support at (844) 319 3909, available Monday through Friday from 5:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time and Saturday through Sunday from 6:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time. Email support is listed as available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, as is its X account, @UpgradeCredit. Its help center also covers common loan questions.

Before accepting, save a copy of the offer and loan agreement. Make sure the amount deposited is enough after fees, the payment fits your monthly budget, and the repayment term is one you can manage. For debt consolidation, verify creditor balances and payment instructions. For a secured loan, understand what asset serves as collateral and the consequences of failing to repay.

Is Upgrade a fit for a fair credit borrower?

Upgrade may suit borrowers who need a relatively small loan, want repayment options as long as 84 months, or have a credit score near the lender’s recommended 580 minimum. Its direct creditor payment feature can simplify debt consolidation, and the option to prequalify gives applicants a way to see preliminary terms before a hard inquiry.

The trade offs are material. The APR can reach 35.99%, origination fees can reach 9.99%, and a late payment costs $10. The listed minimum does not promise approval or a low rate. Borrowers with fair or poor credit should compare multiple offers, since a higher APR or fee can sharply change how much a loan costs. Those with stronger credit should also check whether another lender offers a lower total cost.

Upgrade is an established lender, and the company says it has made more than $24 billion in credit available through its loans and credit products during the last five years. The supplied information includes differing snapshots of its Trustpilot score, one reporting 4.5 out of 5 across more than 39,000 reviews and another reporting 4.3 across more than 41,000. Customer ratings can change, so treat them as one reference rather than a substitute for reviewing the contract.

The practical next step is to prequalify, then compare the written offer with alternatives using the same loan amount and repayment period. Confirm the fee and cash you would receive, and calculate whether the payment leaves room for essential bills and existing debts. If the quoted cost is not competitive, or the payment would strain your budget, keep shopping rather than accepting solely because you qualify.

Will the written offer beat the advertised range?

The decision turns on the final terms, not the broad range. Upgrade’s flexible eligibility and features can be useful, but a low score may bring a high APR, and the origination fee reduces funds at disbursement. Only the actual offer can show whether its price, payment, and payoff schedule compare favorably with other options.